Horror Movie Movie Month

last year my friends and I tried to watch a horror movie a day. we are doing the same thing this year.

The Exorcist
1972 dir. William Friedkin ★★★★
i thought this movie was rad. it was freaky and unsettling.
Blade
1998 dir. Stephen Norrington ★★★★½
Awesome!!!!!! this movie is immediately in the highest tier of superhero movies for me. you know the ones that are actually good. and those ones tend to be the ones that lean into camp and are just sick. You know what I'm talkign about. (Spider man)
The Ring
2002 dir. Gore Verbinski ★★
Meh..... I mean the video is cool. and like overall its not the worst flick its just kind of dull overall..
Hellraiser
1987 dir. Clive Baker ★★★★
Sooooo sick!! some of the best practical effects i've ever seen for real. Rivals The Thing really IMO. And I read on wikipedia that the same dude who made the book directed the movie. Wtf!
House of 1000 Corpses
2003 dir. Rob Zombie ★★★
its a 2003 B movie for sure. my first Robert Zombie pretty cool. TBH thought it was gonna go further with the gore but overall entertaining.
The Shining
1980 dir. Stanley Kubrick ★★★★★
What is there to say that hasn't already been said? I'm not gonna act like I know the deep intricacies of the plot but what I do understand is that this movie keeps my attention the entire time and it seems unreal how meticulous every shot is planned. Does that make sense? The setting and the acting-- the acting!! Everyone is doing an ultra incredible job. Danny? How the hell can a achild act like that?? But yeah. The best really.
Friday the 13th
1980 dir. Sean S. Cunningham ★★★
Everyone and their mom told me going into this that this movie, despite its popularity, kind of sucks wang. And wouldn't you know it... they are kind of right. That being said I did enjoy myself overall. The early 80s summer vibe is truly unmatched. And even though the plot is about as complex as a stop sign it still delivers where it needs to: Gory Ass Murders!!! I've gotta watch all the sequels, RedLetterMedia made a great video recently about the series (RLM = GOAT)
The Sixth Sense
1999 dir. M. Night Shyamalan ★★★
Uhhhh I don't really know how to think about this. Knowing the twist going into it felt like I had steam taken out the whole time, but nevertheless I think it's a good flick. Some truly unsettling parts to me. But also kind of dumb? I think it's wild that it made as much money as it did, the whole game was different back then.

Looking back on all this now I give a lot of 3s. Please don't look too deeply into my scores. I just like to watch movies at the end of the day.

Cabin in the Woods
2011 dir. Drew Goddard ★★★½
It takes a lot these days for me not to get instantly jaded by a movie that insists how cool it is by being self aware or meta. Like, get over yourself. Movies have tropes. Do something interesting with it or shut up. Luckily this movie manages to pull it off I believe. It is funny and the cast has charisma and that one shot is freaking epic.
Freddy vs. Jason
2003 dir. Ronny Yu ★★★½
This movie fucks!!!! So often you hear about these versus movies and you just gear yourself up for inevitable disappointment. Because for some reason, "vs" movie directors seem to think we want to see anything except the title fight (YOOO). But this movie knows what we want to see. I mean, there's an arson fight in a corn field during a rave! It's funny and camp but also freaky and some sick kills. Killer soundtrack too.
Over the Garden Wall
2014 dir. Nate Cash ★★★★★
Ultimately probably the best thing Cartoon Network will ever make.

Closing thoughts

Alas, October has come and gone. Were 31 movies watched? Fuck no. I was busy as hell. I wasn't able to watch any foreign horror movies either. But that's OK. Overall I had a good time with the vast majority of these movies. I got to see some classics and some classic stinkers too. And i got to spend time with my friends so.... Yeah!!!!!